Marshall County Community Foundation Announces 2023 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient

The Marshall County Community Foundation (MCCF) is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2023 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship for Marshall County is Caleb Cullers of Bremen Public Schools. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are known for their community involvement, academic achievement, character, and leadership.

“Caleb’s academic performance was exceptional, and his volunteerism and community involvement were substantial. Caleb received several awards and recognitions throughout his high school career,” said Beth Styers, MCCF Scholarship Committee Chair. “Caleb was a very active contributor to his community during high school.” Caleb is the son of David and Kathy Cullers. Caleb plans to attend Indiana Wesleyan University to pursue a bachelor’s degree in accounting and business finance.

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars may also participate in the Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects scholars with resources and opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities. Both the scholarship program and LSN are supported by grants from Lilly Endowment to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).

In nominating Marshall County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholar, consideration was given to 1) academic performance; 2) community service, work experience, and leadership; 3) school activities; and 4) an application essay and interview by the Lilly Scholarship Selection Committee. After the field of applicants was narrowed down, nominees were submitted to the statewide administrator of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, ICI, for the selection of scholarship recipients.

“Caleb was chosen as this year’s nomination and we congratulate Caleb for his hard work! Each year the applicants from Marshall County are amazing and it is always a difficult selection process because their high school careers are so full of excellence!” said Linda Yoder, MCCF Executive Director.

Lilly Endowment created the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program for the 1998-1999 school year and has supported the program every year since with tuition grants totaling in excess of $439 million. More than 5,000 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship since the program’s inception.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit, and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.